Ex-PSNi Chief Constable Matt Baggott knighted in New Year's Honour List

Ex-PSNi Chief Constable Matt Baggott knighted in New Year’s Honour List

A FORMER PSNI Chief Cosntable has been knighted in the New Year’s Honours List,

Sir Matt Baggott was among 80 people who received gongs in the 2015 Queen’s list.

He led the PSNI from August 2009 until June 2014.

Sir Matt said: “This award is an acknowledgement of the courage, commitment and achievements of my policing colleagues without whose immense efforts I would not have been able to fulfil my responsibilities.

“It has been in particular, a God given privilege to serve in Northern Ireland and the continuing journey to peace will remain in my thoughts and prayers.”

The highest honour was given to Dame Mary Peters, Northern Ireland’s only Olympic gold medallist.

She has been made a Companion of Honour (CH) for services to sport and to the community.

Belfast boxer Paddy Barnes received an MBE for his services to sport.

The 27-year-old boxer, who won two Olympic bronze medals for Ireland, described himself as a “proud Irish sportsman” after accepting the royal honour.

“I am pleased to have been recognised in the Queen’s honours list for 2015 for my contribution to the sport of boxing and for my contribution to work in this community,” he said.

The light flyweight has also represented Northern Ireland at the Commonwealth Games, winning gold medals in India in 2010 and Scotland in 2014.

“If my achievements in boxing can inspire others and people can be united through sport, then my efforts will have been worthwhile,” the boxer added.

Former Cliftonville chairman and FIFA vice president Jim Boyce picked up an OBE for his services to football both at home and abroad.

Mr Boyce described his OBE for services to football in Northern Ireland as a “tremendous honour”.

“I would like to dedicate this honour to the people who kept football in Northern Ireland going through the many, many difficult years – be they players, officials, coaches or spectators,” he said.

Dame Mary Peters’ award is a rare honour conferred for “recognised services of national importance”.

The Order of the Companions of Honour (CH) was established in 1917 and consists of the Queen and only 65 other members.

In addition to Sir Matt’s knighthood, three Police Service of Northern Ireland officers have been awarded the Queen’s Police Medal, while the governor of Maghaberry Prison, Patrick Maguire, received a CBE.

Prof Barnett has been Vice Chancellor of Ulster University (UU) since 2006.

A UU spokesperson said: “This is a well deserved honour which recognises both Prof Barnett’s leadership in higher education and his contribution to business and the economy in Northern Ireland.”

They added that the knighthood was “a fitting recognition” of his eight-year tenure.

Deric Henderson, the former editor of the Press Association in Ireland, received an MBE for his services to journalism.

And head of news at UTV in Belfast, Chris Hagan, received a British Empire Medal (BEM) for his services to the community in his home town of Killyleagh, Co Down.


Order of the Companions of Honour – CH

  • Dame Mary Peters


  • Prof Richard Barnett
  • Matthew Baggott

Commanders of the British Empire – CBE

  • Nigel Dunlop
  • Patricia Lewsley-Mooney
  • Patrick Maguire

Officers of the British Empire – OBE

  • Elizabeth Armour
  • Joan Baird
  • James Boyce
  • John Curran
  • John Fay
  • David Guilfoyle
  • Leslie Hughes
  • Maud Kells
  • Séamus Magee
  • Geraldine McGahey
  • Daniel McSorley
  • Dr Anne Murray
  • Prof Kenneth Seddon
  • Henry Tweedie

Members of the British Empire – MBE

  • Elizabeth Adger
  • William Agnew
  • Henry Armstrong
  • Paddy Barnes
  • Thomas Baxter
  • Rosemond Baxter
  • Agnes Brand
  • Gerard Broderick
  • Anthony Byrne
  • Dr Audrey Cassidy
  • Patricia Cunningham
  • Margaret Davidson
  • Ferris Dennison
  • Geoffrey Dunn
  • Margaret Eyden
  • Dr Mary Flynn
  • Hugh Gibson
  • Roisin Goodwin
  • Sheila Graham
  • William Greer
  • Deric Henderson
  • Helen Lindsay
  • Florence Mairs
  • Celine McCartan
  • The Reverend Ronald McCracken
  • Brendan McCusker
  • John McLaughlin
  • Maurice Mills
  • William Patterson
  • Pearl Woodburn

British Empire Medal – BEM

  • Liam Broderick
  • Michael Campbell
  • Andrew Clint
  • Margaret Couchman
  • Ellison Craig
  • Rachael Davison
  • William Dickson
  • Wilma Erskine-Heggarty
  • Anna Glass
  • Robert Graham
  • Louise Greer
  • Margaret Gurney
  • Christopher Hagan
  • John Hughes
  • Maureen Hume
  • Pearl Hutchinson
  • John Kelly
  • Henry Lamont
  • Robert Madine
  • Joseph McLaughlin
  • David McQuigg
  • Mary Mitchell
  • David Monaghan
  • Lawrence Murphy
  • Dennis Nash
  • Elizabeth Orr
  • Shane Quinn
  • Leslie Shiels
  • William Short
  • Leonard Totton
  • Robert Watson

Queen’s Police Medal – QPM

  • Sgt George McNee
  • Sgt Thomas Stevenson
  • Det Insp Stephen Wilson

Queen’s Fire Service Medal – QFSM

  • Dale Ashford
Share |

Comments are closed.

BD Top 5
Email Us