Announcing the shortlist for the 2014 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards is Gemma Bell (left) from Diageo NI along with Patricia Kingston from NITB at the Ulster Hall, Belfast.

Announcing the shortlist for the 2014 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards is Gemma Bell (left) from Diageo NI along with Patricia Kingston from NITB at the Ulster Hall, Belfast.

THE Northern Ireland Tourist Board today unveiled the shortlist of nominations for the 2014 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards, in association with Diageo NI.

The coveted awards, which recognise the outstanding performers in the tourism industry, will this year be presented across nine different categories.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony to be held on Thursday 29 May at Belfast’s Ulster Hall, the highlight of the annual tourism calendar.

Commenting on the shortlist, NITB Chief Executive Alan Clarke said;

“This year marks the 36th running of the Northern Ireland Tourism Awards ceremony and on the night the event will recognise the hard work and achievements of the people in an industry that continued to transform and to deliver excellent experiences for our visitors in 2013.

“Last year Northern Ireland hosted three major events that again generated global attention, meanwhile our tourism industry continued to move confidently on from the achievements and the large-scale investment associated with the campaigns of recent years”.

“In this context the nominees can be justly proud to make this shortlist. NITB congratulates them all and we look forward to celebrating their success on 29 May.”

Outstanding Contribution to Tourism and Tourism Ambassador awards will also feature at this year’s ceremony.

Gemma Bell, Corporate Relations Manager at Diageo NI, said; “Each year the standard of shortlisted entries for NITA continue to rise and the commitment and passion for tourism, service and quality was very evident once again during 2013.

“In Northern Ireland we have a reputation for being great hosts and for ensuring that visitors have a great experience, so it is important that the people, places and organisations that make such a valuable contribution to our tourism industry are recognised and rewarded.

“At Diageo we are committed to working with NITB and our other industry partners to drive visitor numbers and great visitor experiences throughout Northern Ireland to leave a lasting legacy for the growth and development of tourism.”

The shortlist has been drawn up by a panel of judges from entries that came in from all over Northern Ireland, and includes nominations that are contesting in more than one category.

For tickets and more information about the gala awards ceremony please visit

Awards shortlist (in alphabetical order)


1. Anchorage Inn


2. Ballygally Holiday Apartments


3. Belle Isle Cookery School


4. Belleek Pottery Visitor Centre


5. Belmore Court


6. Broughgammon Farm


7. Castle Ward


8. City Hotel Derry


9. Crumlin Road Gaol


10. Culture Night Belfast


11. Enniskillen Hotel


12. Fermanagh Black Bacon


13. Fleadh Cheoil 2013




15. Irish Landmark Trust


16. Lough Erne


17. Malone Lodge


18. National Trust (Festival of Light)


19. Nerve Centre (Culture NI)


20. Open House Bangor


21. Rayanne House


22. Shola Coach House B&B


23. SS Nomadic


24. Teepee Valley Campsite


25. The Belfast Golden Ticket


26. The New Belfast Welcome Centre


27. Ulster Bank Belfast Festival at Queens



Share |

Comments are closed.

BD Top 5
Email Us