PSNI advise motorists to expect delays and road closures during the Twelfth

PSNI advise motorists to expect delays and road closures during the Twelfth

POLICE are advising motorists to expect delays on Friday and also to be aware of road closures to the annual Twelfth Orange parades taking place.

Motorists are asked to allow extra time for their journey and anyone intending to go to the parades to get there early, use official car parking and to follow the directions of marshals and police officers.

Many roads will be closed as main parades take place across the region and there will be traffic delays and disruptions due to feeder parades.

The Parades Commission has been notified of 580 parades and protests for this year’s Twelfth, with just over 50 deemed as sensitive and 40 determinations issued.

Around 630 extra police officers drafted in from the UK for the G8 will be supporting the PSNI during the Twelfth celebrations, which PSNI Chief Constable Matt Baggot said were on a uniquely large scale this year.




North and west Belfast:

Delays in the Crumlin Road and Clifton Street area from 9am to 12pm.

There will be access to Mater Hospital and the Westlink will remain open to traffic, the Clifton Street off slip will be closed during this time.

Delays expected between 3.30-7pm in the Crumlin Road/Woodvale Road/Ardoyne area; Donegall Street/Clifton Street/Crumlin Road area between 5.30-7pm and Shore Road/Whitewell Road area at around 6.30pm.

Minor delays on the Crumlin Road/Woodvale Road area near Ardoyne and in the Springfield Road area from Springmartin Road to Lanark Way from 8-9am; Whitewell Road/Shore Road and York Street 8-8.30am and North Street/Peters Hill and Lower Shankill Road 9-11.30am.

South and East Belfast:

Drivers are advised to avoid routes when main parades are taking place.

For feeder parades police will attempt to keep disruption to a minimum.

Main parade assembles from Carlisle Circus beginning at 10am and returning at 4.15pm.

Main parade: Carlisle Circus, Clifton Street, Donegall Street, Royal Avenue, Donegall Place, Donegall Square North, (short service at the cenotaph at City Hall) Donegall Square West, Bedford Street, Dublin Road, Shaftesbury Square, Bradbury Place, Lisburn Road, Balmoral Avenue, Malone Road, Barnetts Demesne.

Return route: Barnetts Demesne, Malone Road, Balmoral Avenue, Lisburn Road, Bradbury Place, Shaftesbury Square, Dublin Road, Bedford Street, Donegall Square West, Donegall Square North, Donegall Place, Royal Avenue, Donegall Street, Clifton Street, and Carlisle Circus.

Feeder parades:

Sandy Row:

No 5 District leaves Sandy Row at 8.30am proceeding to Hope Street, Great Victoria Street, Fisherwick Place, College Square East, Wellington Place, Donegall Square North, Donegall Place, Royal Avenue, North Street, Peter’s Hill, and Boundary Street, Denmark Street.

On return they will leave the main parade at Bruce Street and proceed to Sandy Row Orange Hall for dispersal via, Hope Street and Sandy Row.

Newtownards Road:

No 6 District will assemble at Templemore Avenue at 8am and proceed to Carlisle Circus to join the main parade via the following route: Templemore Avenue, Newtownards Road, Bridge End, Queen’s Bridge, Ann Street, Victoria Street, High Street, Castle Place, Royal Avenue, North Street, Peters Hill, Boundary Street, Denmark Street, and Carlisle Circus.

On return, they will leave the main parade at Castle Place and proceed to Templemore Avenue for dispersal via, Castle Place, High Street, Queens Square, Donegall Quay, Queen Elizabeth II Bridge, Middlepath Street, Newtownards Road, Templemore Avenue.

Ormeau Road:

No 10 District leaves Ballynafeigh Orange Hall on the Ormeau Road at 9.30am proceeding along Stranmillis Embankment, Collingwood Avenue, Agincourt Avenue, Rugby Road, College Park, Botanic Avenue, Donegall Pass, Ormeau Road, Ormeau Avenue, Linenhall Street, Donegall Square South, Donegall Square East, Donegall Square North, Donegall Place.

Return parade leaves Shaftesbury Square/Dublin Road travelling back to Ballynafeigh Orange Hall via Botanic Avenue, College Park, Rugby Road, Agincourt Avenue, Collingwood Street, Stranmillis Embankment, Ormeau Road.

Ravenhill Road:

At 7am a parade will leave Knocknagoney Park, Knocknagoney Road, to then arrive via bus at Ravenhill Road before travelling along Ravenhill Road, Albertbridge Road and Templemore Avenue to join main parade.

Albertbridge Road:

At 8am a parade will assemble at the Mount, travelling along Castlereagh Street, Albertbridge Road and Templemore Ave, returning at 6.30pm along the Albertbridge Road, Castlereagh Street and dispersing at the Mount.


Main Road between Clough through Dundrum closed from 10.30am-2.30pm and 3.30pm-6.30pm. Diversions through Castlewellan.

Disruption throughout the day in Downpatrick but no road closures.

North Down:

Disruption in Bangor throughout the day as feeder parades commence from 7.30am.

Main parade at 11.45am proceeding along Hamilton Road, Donaghadee Road, High Street, Bridge Street, Lower Main Street, Upper Main Street, Abbey Street, Newtownards Road, Abbey Hill Drive returning at 4.30pm.


Main Antrim Road, O’Neill Road and Ballyclare Road closed to road traffic from 11am-1pm and 3-5pm.

Lower part of O’Neill Road from Valley Park to roundabout closed all day.

There will be no access to the Colinbridge, Glenwell and Vaddegan areas from the Antrim Road during the times when the road closure is in place however local access arrangements will be implemented for residents.

Signposted car parks will be available for extra vehicles.


Signs will be in place to advise of diversions.

Car park for spectators on the Grovehill Road access via Lake Ends and Legananny Road.

The Southbound A1 off slip will be closed once the main parade commences.

One lane only on the A1 both north/south bound on the approach to Loughbrickland.

Traffic not permitted from 9am-12pm and 3pm-6pm.


Signs will be in place to advise of diversions.

Car parking is available on the Ballymoyer Road, Old Mount Road, Old Road and Monaghan Road.

Traffic not permitted from 9am-12pm and 3pm-6pm.


Signs will be in place to advise of diversions.

Minor traffic disruptions will also occur in Armagh City, Portadown, Newry, Lurgan and Banbridge both in the morning and evening for the return parades.

South Tyrone and Fermanagh:

Demonstrations in Augher and Castlecaulfield will close routes from 11am, with another in Ballinamallard closing roads from 11.30am.

Feeder parades in the morning will cause delays in most towns and villages in the area.


Main roads closed between 11am-6pm, with diversions in place.


A number of parades will take place as part of the Flagship Twelfth event.

Bands will move from John Street to the Fountain via Carlisle Square and Wapping Lane at 9.30am.

Further bands will assemble at the Fountain and parade to the Memorial Hall on Society Street at 9.45am.

From 10am the parade will move from Memorial Hall to May Street, then from 11.30am to Wilton Park.

The return parade leaves at 4.15pm from Wilton Park to Bond Street where bands will split off onto different routes.

The remainder of the parade will continue along Clooney Terrace, from Victoria Road three lodges and four bands will parade along Craigavon Bridge to Memorial Hall with the last parade members dispersing at Kennedy Place at around 5.30pm.


Diversions in place and delays in Portglenone and Rasharkin, with some restrictions in place during the main parades.


Share |

Comments are closed.

BD Top 5
Email Us