DUP MLA Paul Givan proposed abortion amendment to Criminal Justice Bill

DUP MLA Paul Givan proposed abortion amendment to Criminal Justice Bill

AN abortion amendment to the Criminal Justice Bill failed at the Assembly on Tuesday evening.

The majority of MLAs, 53, backed the abortion amendment which had been brought before the house by the DUP’s Paul Givan and Alban Maginness of the SDLP.

Forty MLAs voted against the amendment which was introduced to ensure only abortions carried out for medical reasons were carried out in NHS hospitals.

But because there was a Petition of Concern, the abortion amendment failed.

Alliance MLA Stewart Dickson welcomed the decision.

He said: “This was an inappropriate amendment. This was bad legislation that would surely have been challenged in the courts if it had been passed.”


93 Members voted, of which 53 voted AYE [56.99%]

35 Nationalists voted, of which 9 voted AYE [25.71%]

49 Unionists voted, of which 44 voted AYE [89.8%]

9 Others voted, of which 0 voted AYE [0%]


MLA Name, Designation, Voted:

Mr Steven Agnew Other NO

Mr Jim Allister Unionist AYE

Mr Sydney Anderson Unionist AYE

Mr Roy Beggs Unionist AYE

Mr Jonathan Bell Unionist AYE

Mr Cathal Boylan Nationalist NO

Ms Michaela Boyle Nationalist NO

Mr Dominic Bradley Nationalist AYE

Ms Paula Bradley Unionist AYE

Mr Mickey Brady Nationalist NO

Ms Pam Brown Unionist AYE

Mr Thomas Buchanan Unionist AYE

Mr Joe Byrne Nationalist AYE

Mr Gregory Campbell Unionist AYE

Mr Trevor Clarke Unionist AYE

Mrs Judith Cochrane Other NO

Mr Michael Copeland Unionist NO

Mr Jonathan Craig Unionist AYE

Mr Leslie Cree MBE Unionist AYE

Mr Stewart Dickson Other NO

Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson Unionist AYE

Mr Sammy Douglas MBE, MCA Unionist AYE

Mr Gordon Dunne Unionist AYE

Mr Mark Durkan Nationalist AYE

Mr Alex Easton Unionist AYE

Mr Tom Elliott Unionist AYE

Dr Stephen Farry Other NO

Ms Megan Fearon Nationalist NO

Mr Phil Flanagan Nationalist NO

Mr David Ford Other NO

Mrs Arlene Foster Unionist AYE

Mr Paul Frew Unionist AYE

Mr Paul Girvan Unionist AYE

Mr Paul Givan Unionist AYE

Mrs Brenda Hale Unionist AYE

Mr Simon Hamilton Unionist AYE

Mr Chris Hazzard Nationalist NO

Mr David Hilditch Unionist AYE

Mr William Humphrey Unionist AYE

Mr Ross Hussey Unionist AYE

Mr William Irwin Unionist AYE

Mrs Dolores Kelly Nationalist AYE

Mr Danny Kennedy Unionist AYE

Mr Danny Kinahan Unionist NO

Ms Anna Lo MBE Other NO

Mr Trevor Lunn Other NO

Mr Seán Lynch Nationalist NO

Mr Chris Lyttle Other NO

Mr Declan McAleer Nationalist NO

Mr John McCallister Unionist NO

Mr Fra McCann Nationalist NO

Mr Kieran McCarthy Other NO

Mr Raymond McCartney Nationalist NO

Mr Nelson McCausland Unionist AYE

Ms Rosaleen McCorley Nationalist NO

Mr Ian McCrea Unionist AYE

Mr Barry McElduff Nationalist NO

Ms Bronwyn McGahan Nationalist NO

Mr Patsy McGlone Nationalist AYE

Mr David McIlveen Unionist AYE

Miss Michelle McIlveen Unionist AYE

Mr Daithí McKay Nationalist NO

Mrs Karen McKevitt Nationalist AYE

Ms Maeve McLaughlin Nationalist NO

Mr Mitchel McLaughlin Nationalist NO

Mr Oliver McMullan Nationalist NO

Mr David McNarry Unionist AYE

Mr Adrian McQuillan Unionist AYE

Mr Alban Maginness Nationalist AYE

Mr Alex Maskey Nationalist NO

Mr Francie Molloy Nationalist NO

Lord Morrow of Clogher Valley Unionist AYE

Mr Stephen Moutray Unionist AYE

Mr Mike Nesbitt Unionist NO

Mr Robin Newton Unionist AYE

Ms Carál Ní Chuilín Nationalist NO

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín Nationalist NO

Mr John O’Dowd Nationalist NO

Mrs Michelle O’Neill Nationalist NO

Mrs Sandra Overend Unionist NO

Mr Edwin Poots Unionist AYE

Mr Pat Ramsey Nationalist AYE

Ms Sue Ramsey Nationalist NO

Mr George Robinson Unionist AYE

Mr Sean Rogers Nationalist AYE

Mr Alastair Ross Unionist AYE

Ms Caitríona Ruane Nationalist NO

Mr Pat Sheehan Nationalist NO

Mr Jimmy Spratt Unionist AYE

Mr Mervyn Storey Unionist AYE

Mr Robin Swann Unionist AYE

Mr Peter Weir Unionist AYE

Mr Jim Wells Unionist AYE







Share |


BD Top 5
Email Us